Thursday, April 8, 2010

Deccan chargers charge over Banglore challengers

T Suman and Andrew Symonds steered Hyderabad to a fabulous seven-wicket win over Bangalore on Thursday.

Hyderabad lost an early early wicket in the form of Monish Mishra, chasing a massive 185 against Bangalore.
But Adam Gilchrist and T Suman consolidated the innings and played their shots well to lay a solid platform for Hyderabad.
Gilchrist departed after playing a breezy knock of 32 off just 19 balls that put Hyderabad in a good position.
Then even Rohit Sharma departed in quick succession as Bangalore gained an upper hand.
But T Suman in the able company of Andrew Symonds clinch the game away from Bangalore.
Earlier, brilliant half-centuries from Jacques Kallis and Virat Kohli helped Bangalore post a massive total of 184 for six.
Bangalore lost an early wicket in the form of Manish Pandey after Hyderabad put them in to bat in their IPL match.
Thereafter Jacques Kallis and Rahul Dravid consolidated the innings but Dravid failed to sustain and departed after playing a fine knock of 26 off 25 balls. It was Pragyan Ojha, who took the prized wicket of the former India captain.
Then Andrew Symonds struck in the very next over to get rid of Robin Uthappa.
And before Bangalore could get over the twine blow, Ojha struck again to see off Ross Taylor for one.
And suddenly Bangalore were reeling at 68 for four in 10.1 overs.
However, Jacques Kallis and Virat Kohli fired all cylinders to put the team in the driver's seat. They also completed their half-centuries each in the process.
Hyderabad are in a must win situation in this crucial encounter.
While Bangalore are comfortably placed in the points table, with every chance of making it to the semi-finals, Hyderabad's five consecutive loses have put them in a danger of slipping down to the bottom of the table.

Bangalore: JH Kallis, MK Pandey, CL White, RV Uthappa, LRPL Taylor, V Kohli, R Dravid, R Vinay Kumar, P Kumar, A Kumble, DW Steyn

Hyderabad: AC Gilchrist, MD Mishra, A Symonds, Y Venugopal Rao, MR Marsh, RG Sharma, TL Suman, RP Singh, PP Ojha, RJ Harris, Harmeet Singh

No comments:

Post a Comment